East Meets West in Hong Kong

It’s great to finally be back in Shanghai after an 8 day trip to Hong Kong, Macau, Shenzhen, and Zhuhai….well not in that exact order. It was an interesting experience, but traveling with 35 other people always is. I survived the hours on the group bus and only got seriously lost once in Macau. I fell in love with Hong Kong and was shocked by how much it reminded me of the states. It was beautiful and clean and the people were very friendly. Our hotel had waffles and pancakes and omlets and all the makings of a classic American breakfast that I’ve missed while in China. Hong Kong has the best metro system in the world and that’s not just my opinion. It really is the top ranked metro in the world. I’m guessing it get’s a lot of use because it is so expensive to own a car on the island. If you want to purchase a car you have to pay a duty equal to 110% of the cars value, i.e the people who drive cars are pretty rich. Hong Kong also tops another list with the greatest, or one of the greatest I don’t remember which, disparity between the rich and the poor.

At any rate, I did my part to help the local economy by doing a bit of shopping while I was there. For some time now I’ve been worried about being able to find shoes for my feet which are incredibly large by Asian standards. After a luggage snafu before I arrived in China, I only brought about 3 pairs of sandals, 2 pairs of heels, a pair of tennis shoes…nothing for the best season ever…fall. It’s already starting to cool down and I haven’t been able to find the first pair of closed toed flats or shoes for the fall.

It’s slightly painful to go to the mall and fall in love with a pair of shoes, only to see the sales lady’s look of sheer shock when you ask for the equivalent of a size 11. Note to readers: If you visit China and have larger feet, always, I repeat, ALWAYS bring shoes with you for all occasions and all seasons.

Now where was I, back to Hong Kong…. I was able to buy a pair of red keds for a reasonable price. They are actually men’s shoes but beggers can’t be choosers at this point. It’s my first pair of keds and I really love them. I also found a place in Shanghai that makes shoes for 200 yuan (equivalent of $30). So everyone can relax, I will have shoes for the fall.

This post really is suppose to be about Hong Kong, not my shoe issues. But in my defense, shoes have always been a source of stress in my life. I’ve had the same shoe size since 7th grade and it took me a long time to be comfortable with my feet. When I was younger my dad would tease me about my feet. Once when our cat was lost in our house somewhere, my dad said to check my shoes because the cat might be hiding in them…my dad can’t live with him and can’t live with him…I think that’s how the saying goes.

Speaking of my dad, I’m not too homesick as of yet. It’s week 6 and I’m reminded of home at every turn, and how life is going on without me. It will be homecoming soon at UAB and Bayfest, an annual music festival, in Mobile was this past weekend, events that are some of the best memories for me. I guess that’s how the year abroad works…I’m able to experience so much at the expense of some of the best parts of life back home.

I’d like to go back to Hong Kong some day. Maybe I’ll work there eventually. Who knows what the future will bring?

For this post’s list I want to share the top 10 lessons I learned from traveling with a large group around China:

1. At some point when traveling with 35 people you will want to kill many members of the group, just relax, in a few minutes this impulse will pass.

2. There’s really no excuse for getting lost from the group at 20, even if it’s a chronic condition you’ve had since you were 5.

4. Having the number of a fellow group member saved is very helpful if, or in my case when, you get lost…who knew?

3. Foreign currency is not monopoly money even if at first it looks that way.

4. Be weary of weird Australians who openly discuss the price differences of coke in the US, Hong Kong, and Australia…and I don’t mean the stuff you drink for the caffienne.

5. It’s ok to rationalize a fake LV bag as a necessary purchase.

6. If your bus driver decides to play chicken with the other buses, chances are he knows what he’s doing and you’ll survive the experience to talk about it

7. Seeing Hong Kong at night will make you feel like a little kid again.

8. Fish eyes really don’t taste half bad.

9. Even pancakes from a 5 star hotel can’t compete with my mom’s.

10. Sometimes the best part of a fabulous trip is the end.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Madison on October 23, 2010 at 11:24 AM

    Kim!! I miss you! I have been thinking about you a lot lately!! I am so glad you are having a WONDERFUL time!! I would love to visit China one day!! Take Care!! Cant wait till you come back!!
    -Madison

    Reply

Leave a comment